You can only delete an item after its initial listing before it is approved.
(Once "vendorItemId" is created after approval, you cannot delete it.)
To delete it before approval,
delete all the sub-categories of the respective options in the items array.
(The options that you wish to leave behind should include "sellerProductItemId".)